Egypt, Oman, Turkey, Pakistan: Off the List of Red Countries

LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 21: Travellers wearing face coverings with their luggage in the almost deserted departures hall at Terminal 5 of Heathrow Airport in west London on December 21, 2020, as a string of countries around the world banned travellers arriving from the UK, due to the rapid spread of a new, more-infectious coronavirus strain. Prime Minister Boris Johnson was to chair a crisis meeting Monday as a growing number of countries blocked flights from Britain over a new highly infectious coronavirus strain the UK said was "out of control". ( Kate Green - Anadolu Agency )

British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced a set of new changes to the  travel system that will be implemented over the next month.

As of Monday, October 4th, the tripartite system of travel lists will be scrapped and replaced with a list of only two categories: red and green countries. Also by that date, travelers will not be required to take the pre-departure PCR test before arriving in the UK.

Then, starting from the end of October, travelers from green countries – provided they are fully vaccinated – will be able to replace the day 2 PCR test with its cheaper counterpart the lateral flow test.

Most notably, 8 prominent destinations will be removed from the list of red countries on September 22. These include: 

  • Egypt 
  • Turkey
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Kenya
  • Sri Lanka
  • Maldives


The minister hopes that the new overhaul will provide a simpler and more straightforward system for the British, so that they can travel with less testing and at a lower cost.

Source: Sky News

Join the mailing list

You can contact us and find out everything new.

what is related to Arab news in Britain?By providing us with an e-mail address